Technology in the Classroom (Part 2)

One way I would use blogs with a diverse population of students within my classroom is to allow the students to create their own blogs. I would ask the students to write a blog reflecting what they learned from the lesson that day and provide examples of ways they can use what they’ve learned outside of the classroom. For example, with ELL students I would ask them to create a blog reflecting on what they learned from the lesson and what things from the lesson they did not quite understand. By the student’s reflections I can get some insight on how well students grasped the lesson and it also allows the students to be creative in describing what they learned from their perspectives.

Another way I would use blogs with a diverse population of students within my classroom is for responses. I would create a blog that my students would write a response to. For example, with an AIG student I would ask the AIG student(s) to include information from one online article, newspaper, or magazine in their response that supports their response to the blog. The students would also be responsible for citing the source.

A third way I would use blogs with a diverse population of students within my classroom is for storytelling. I would ask my students to create a blog telling a story including content they have learned from the lesson. This will allow students to be creative and enhance their literacy skills. These stories can be fictional which allows the students really be adventurous when creating their stories.

After viewing the videos Minecraft in School and World and Peace and Other 4th Grade Achievement, I think the Minecraft in School video was the best example of 21st century learning.

Pixton is a program I would use to incorporate animation and comics in the classroom. The good thing about this program is that students can upload pictures and add music to their comic strips. This program is also designed mainly for schools and the website has examples of comic strips in varying content areas. The students can share, download, and print the comics. Teachers can control what students are able to see and do on the program. Teachers can create an assignment within the program and create a classroom forum where the comics can be published on. Teachers can grade the comics within the program as well. Fortunately, the program is also whiteboard and smart board friendly. The bad part about this program is it cost $8.99 a month for the teacher and a $1.75 one-time payment per student for the school or district. There is also a 14-day free trial.

I could use this program within my classroom to have the students create comics based on the content area being taught. This allows the students to be creative and use technology to display their knowledge of the content. I can also create a comic and have the students revise the comic to make it their own. This also enhances the student’s creative ability and also gets the students thinking about other ways to display their knowledge of the content.

Diigo is a program I would use to incorporate instructional videos in the classroom. The good thing about Diigo is it is very useful when it comes to organization and it is free. Students can highlight text on websites, PDFs, etc. Students can keep track of websites visited in the classroom and have them bookmarked and organized within their Diigo account. The bad thing about this program is that although it is fee, there are some slight limitations on the uses of the program but not enough to be considered a waste of a download. The free account still allows a lot of access within the program.

I could use this program in the classroom for my students to bookmark their online assignments. The blog, online stories, comic strip sites etc. can all be organized and bookmarked in each student’s Diigo account for easy access. Students can collaborate using this program which allows them to post in a private or public group created by me for that class. Students can share ideas and online findings within the private or public group. I may also have online readings for lessons and the students can use Diigo to highlight important need to know things within the articles. I think it is a great tool for organization and collaboration for the students.

Since my last blog I learned about the incorporation of animation and comics. This was new for me because it slightly differs from online storytelling and digital storytelling. Students actually design an animated character and use it to create comics as a way to incorporate content. I also discovered that Bitstrips which is a very well-known and popular app can be used to incorporate animation in the classroom. I already knew about the program but I have always seen it used on social media as a fun trendy app everyone was using. It is really exciting to know that it can possibly be used in the classroom. I would use animation and comics in my classroom to engage my students with relative technology and have them create or revise comics based on the content taught. I think animation allows students to relate to the assignment mainly because depending on the program they can create a animated character of themselves and use it in the comic strip.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

